Show My HomeworkVLE

ENGLISH

SUBJECT OVERVIEW

Our English department consists of a team of enthusiastic and committed specialists. We place a strong emphasis on equal opportunity and provide an environment in which all students are encouraged to become independent in their thinking and the expression of their ideas. The three main components of speaking and listening, reading and writing are taught interdependently and students are expected to take responsibility for their own learning, as individuals and as part of a team, in a collaborate environment of stimulating, interactive lessons and extra-curricular enrichment activities.

Please click below for the full Curriculum Maps and other useful information.

 

English Curriculum Narrative and Map

For full details of the structure and content, please refer to the English Curriculum Narrative and Map.

Staff Contacts

Staff Name

Role

Email

Miss D Patel

Head of Department and Acting KS4/KS5 English Literature coordinator

dpatel@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Ms L Le Fleurier

KS4 English Language Co-ordinator and Post 16 GCSE Co-ordinator

lefleurier@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Miss M Mohammad KS3 English Literature Co-ordinator mmohammad@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk
Ms A Rugeana KS3 English Language and Catch-up Co-ordinator arugeana@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk
Ms A Gohil EAL Co-ordinator gohil@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk
Mr S Arnsberg Teacher

sarnsberg@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Ms K Theodoridou Teacher ktheodoridou@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Mr Stanton

Teacher

cdonaldstant@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Ms Prinsley Teacher jprinsley@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk
Ms Powell Teacher avernonpowel@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Enrichment

We offer a whole host of enrichment and intervention activities to support learning at Hatch End High School. These include activities such as writing and poetry competitions with Young Writers; trips to the Globe Theatre and events such as Poetry Live; Young City Poets scheme; Young Reporter Scheme with Newsquest; visits to theatres and lectures; The Globe Players performances in school; and, Creative Writing Club; Saturday School; Easter and May-half term sessions; afterschool revision and catch-up sessions; outside agencies delivering tailored sessions; literacy and homework club; and, Walking Talking Mocks.

Useful Links

At HEHS we want to broaden each subject to make it relevant to the real world and enhance students personal development. Below is a series of quick links.

 

Key Stage 4 Reading List