Show My HomeworkVLE

MATHEMATICS

SUBJECT OVERVIEW

The Mathematics Department consists of a team of enthusiastic and committed specialists. Mathematics is an exciting and challenging subject which continues to develop at a rapid rate across many research areas. It provides tools for understanding science, engineering, technology, art and economics. We aim to inspire and motivate students to enjoy learning, achieve and develop as young mathematicians. Students will experience that mathematics is an international language and over time develop means of solving problems and enjoy maths for its own sake.

Please click below for the full Curriculum Maps and other useful information.

 

Mathematics Curriculum Narrative and Map

For full details of the structure and content, please refer to the Mathematics Curriculum Narrative and Map.

Staff Contacts

STAFF NAME

ROLE

EMAIL ADDRESS

Mr T Khan

Head of Department

khan@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Mrs N Bhagwat

Teacher

bhagwat@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Mr V Amoah

KS5 Co-ordinator

amoah@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Mr N Ohiaeri KS3 Co-ordinator ohiaeri@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Mrs M Shah

Enrichment & Cross Co-ordinator

shah@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Dr H Mehta

In Charge of Further Maths and Head of Physics mehta@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Mr O Akin

Teacher

akin@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Miss A Lyons

Year 9 & 10 Co-ordinator

lyons@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Miss H Hussain Teacher hhussain@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk
Dr Z Liang Teacher liang@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Enrichment

We offer a whole host of enrichment and intervention activities to support learning at Hatch End High School. These include activities such as Saturday School; Easter and May half-term sessions; After school revision sessions; Outside agencies delivering tailored sessions; Maths Support after school; Maths Challenge and related events; Workshops with the Further Maths Network.

Useful Links

  • www.mathswatchvle.com is a set of mathematics resources (videos and worksheets) available to support learning. (See your maths teacher for the username and password).
  • www.bbc.co.uk  BBC Skillwise aimed at: key stages 3 and 4 – A fantastic website from the BBC which is aimed at bringing you up to speed with all the key kills that students need to succeed at maths today.
  • www.nrich.maths.org Nrich aimed at: All key stages. These puzzles teach children how to think and solve problems for themselves, which are essential skills for success at maths and all subjects. Each puzzle comes complete with a worked answer and details of the thought processes involved.
  • www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/maths/ BBC BiteSize aimed at: Key stage 4. This is most pupil's first port of call for help on the internet. There are plenty of notes, examples, interactive solutions, and questions for students to have a go themselves.
  • www.coolmath.com. This fully interactive site allows the user to sharpen basic math skills, play games and explore new math concepts.