VLE

GEOGRAPHY

OUR VISION

As the world becomes increasingly globalised, few subjects can claim to be more relevant or applicable to twenty-first century citizens of the planet than geography. Our aim at Hatch End High School is to stimulate wonder for and appreciation of the world we live in. Students are given the opportunity to analyse the complex interactions between places and people, looking at where places are, how places and landscapes are formed, how people and their environment are interdependent, and how a diverse range of economies, societies and environments are interconnected. Whilst at Hatch End, students will be supported to engage critically with real world issues and apply their own geographical knowledge and understanding to make sense of the world around them.  We encourage our students to analyse all sorts of current topics from migration to climate change. Stretching our students to use a wide range of skills from research, data collection and GIS, to essay writing and presentation that will be invaluable for our students in today’s rapidly changing world. 

Please click below for the full Geography Curriculum Map which outlines the content for Year 7-13 in more detail. Also available is other useful information about the Geography department.

 

Geography Curriculum Narrative and Map

For full details of the structure and content, please refer to the Geography Curriculum Narrative and Map.

Geography Example Schemes of Learning

Year 8, Year 10 and Year 12 Example Schemes of Learning

Year 8 Example Scheme of Learning

Year 10 Example Scheme of Learning

Year 12 Example Scheme of Learning

Geography Knowledge Organisers

Year 7, Year 8 and Year 9 Knowledge Organisers

Year 7 Geography Knowledge Organiser

Year 8 Geography Knowledge Organiser

Year 9 Geography Knowledge Organiser

Staff Contacts

STAFF NAME

ROLE

EMAIL

Miss R Cleary

Assistant Headteacher, Acting Head of Geography

clearyr@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Ms N Cowper

KS3 Geography Co-ordinator 

ncowper@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Mrs L Jeffs Assistant Headteacher ljeffs@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk
Miss M Dunford Deputy Headteacher dunford@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk
Miss R Cozens Deputy Headteacher cozens@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk
Mr D Ryan  Teacher DRyan@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk
Dr I Pregnolato Teacher  IPregnolato@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk
Miss A Mehta Teacher   AMehta@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk
Mr A Nicoll Cowley Teacher  anicollcowle@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk
Miss A Noreen

Head of RE

 anoreen@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Miss A  Soulaimane

Teacher ASoulaimane@hatchend.harrow.sch.uk

Enrichment

The department offer a range of opportunities for enrichment across all key stages. These range from guest speakers from the Geographical Association, participation in the GA annual World Wise Quiz and the chance to obtain the John Muir award for conservation. Students can also get involved in maintaining our strong links with a Ugandan School Kiyuya Seed as part of the Harrow-Masindi Network.

Opportunities for learning outside of the classroom are built into lessons as fieldwork is such an integral part of geography. In addition to this there are several day trips open to each key stage and are designed to support the curriculum.

At Key Stage 3 we offer visits to Camley Street Nature Reserve, Belmont Farm, The Science Museum, and The Natural History Museum.

At Key Stage 4 students can visit, Bentley Priory Nature Reserve, London Docklands, The Thames Barrier and The Olympic Park.

At Key Stage 5 students are encouraged to attend several subject specific student conferences throughout the year and carry out some field work in partnership with the FSC.

Key Stage 4 and 5 have a residential opportunity on offer designed to support curriculum content, skills and raise awareness of students surrounding environment. These include weekends away to mid Wales and Devon.

Useful Links